Soundtrack of My Life: Barber Piano Concerto

The pleasure in real-life cinematic moments.

This morning while walking our dog Daisy, I was listening to a recording of Samuel Barber’s Piano Concerto (more on that later).  While casually peering into my neighbours’ homes, I noticed a young boy.  (I’d guess he was about four years old and in my head, I named him Michael.)  He was standing at the front of his house, holding the door open, desperately calling out to his mother who was in her car and ready to pull out away from the curb.  “Mommy!  Mommy!  Please come back!  Please come back Mommy.”

Michael’s grandmother came to the door, held his hand, tried to pull him inside, but he kept pleading. “Mommy!  Mo-mmm-yyy!  Please come back!  Please come back Mommy.”

Meanwhile the incredibly sweet yet achingly sad theme of the second movement of Samuel Barber’s Piano Concerto was streaming through my iPod and straight to my heart.  The perfect soundtrack.

I continued walking.  Smiling.

About karenoke

One-time karaoke champion blogging about curiosities and cravings for music, food, design, and other sweet pleasures. http://about.me/karenoke
This entry was posted in Movie, Musical, Schadenfreude and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Soundtrack of My Life: Barber Piano Concerto

  1. Pingback: The Best of Barber | Pleasure Troll

Leave a Reply

