Super Bowl Classics

I have to admit, I did NOT watch Super Bowl this year.  I didn’t watch the opening anthems being sung; or any part of the game (not even a second); I did not tune in for the half-time show (although I heard that performances by the Black Eyed Peas, Slash and Usher were pretty sparktacular, but out of tune even in autotune); nor did I check in at the end of the game to watch the winning team celebrate (among my favourite TV moments).

So why is PleasureTroll even blogging about Super Bowl XLV?  Well, during the game, I had the pleasure of following Mike Nelson @Kickassical on Twitter as he tweeted the play by play of Classical music in Super Bowl commercials.  Loved it!

It all started with @KickassicalPop culture will always use classical music to set the stage, create a scene. #sb45 #adblitz

And @SoundIdeasCFRC: The only stupidbowl tweets that I care about tonight are @kickassical’s running commentary on the classical music in commercials.

Agreed!  Here are my favourites:

Verdi’s Dies irae makes a big crunch with Doritos

Handel Sarabande at the border with Coca-Cola

Best Buy, Bieber, Ozzy and Rossini’s Barber of Seville

Coca-Cola and Tchaikovsky’s 1812 Overture under Siege

A romantic first date with a can of Pepsi Max and a Boccherini Minuet

Thanks @Kickassical!  Do you think the jocks of North America even realize how much classical music they have consumed with their beer and wings?

About karenoke

One-time karaoke champion blogging about curiosities and cravings for music, food, design, and other sweet pleasures. http://about.me/karenoke
This entry was posted in Musical, Online, Stolen and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Super Bowl Classics

  1. Jessica says:

    The pepsi one KILLS me.

  2. Lauri says:

    Thanks, the power of the feeligns that these classics evoke can be used in so many ways!
    – Lauri

Leave a Reply

